Presidential Order of Merit

The award is the highest honor in the personal gift of SWOSU's chief executive

Recipients of the prestigious SWOSU Presidential Award of Merit are recognized by the SWOSU President for their achievements and contributions that make life better for those they serve. President John Hays introduced the award in 2004.

List of recipients

2016 Recipients

Blaine Boyd, Class of 2014, Director of Correspondence for First Lady of the United States Michelle Obama

2015 Recipients:

Henrietta Mann, Class of 1954,Cheyenne-Arapaho Tribal College.

Everett Dobson, Class of 1981, Dobson Technology Partners.

Bill Bernhardt, Class of 1947 and 1948, SWOSU Foundation, Inc. Board of Trustees.

Leroy Lage, Class of , City of Watonga, Oklahoma.

Sage Kimzey, Professional Bull Rider.

2014 Recipients:

Dennis Wiley Williams, Class of 1978, State of Oklahoma Department of Rehabilitation Services, Visual Services Divison.

2013 Recipients:

Ray Dean Linder, Class of 1957, District Judge, Division 1, Fourth Judicial District of Oklahoma.

2012 Receipients:

Henry Kirkland, Jr., Class of 1969, SWOSU Department of Biological Sciences.

2006 Recipients:

Ed Berrong, Jr., Class of 1961, Former Mayor of Weatherford, Oklahoma.

Lisa Birdwell, Class of 1990, Assistant District Attorney.

Mike Brown, Class of 1978, Mayor of Weatherford, Oklahoma.

Randy Cumby, Class of 1973, Former President of Western Oklahoma State College.

Ricky McPhearson, Class of 1984, Assistant District Attorney.

James Utterback, Class of 1978, President of Seminole State College.

Joe White, Class of 1967, Former President of Carl Albert State College.

Albert Gray, Class of 1974, Chief Executive Officer of The Children's Center.

2004 Recipients:

Marseda Garrison, Class of 1967, Former Regent, Board of Regents of Oklahoma Colleges.

Randy Beutler, Class of 1983 and 2002, Former Oklahoma Legislator and 17th President of SWOSU.

Debbie Blackburn, Class of 1973, Former Oklahoma Legislator.

Ray McCarter, Class of 1974, Former Oklahoma Legislator.

Kathleen Wilcoxson, Class of 1970, Former Oklahoma Legislator.

Purcy Dale Walker, Class of 1975, Former Oklahoma Legislator.

Gary Lumpkin, Class of 1968, Vice-Presiding Judge of the Oklahoma Court of Criminal Appeals.

Bobby Lee Blackburn, Jr., Class of 1973, Executive Director of the Oklahoma Historical Society.

Charley Ellis Boyd Cabaniss, Class of 1969, Associate District Judge, Washita County, Oklahoma.

Jim Maddox, Class of 1962, Former Oklahoma Legislator.

Jack Bonny, Class of 1962, Former Oklahoma Legislator.

Yvonne Kauger, Class of 1959, Justice of the Oklahoma Supreme Court.