Bulldog Blog

SWOSU Foundation Names New Officers, Recognizes Service of Jim Mogg

(Photo left) Southwestern Oklahoma State University Foundation Chair Dianne Hunter of Edmond recognizes Carl Hook of Norman for his two years of service as SWOSU Foundation Chair. (Photo right) Jim Mogg of Hydro (right) receives the SWOSU Presidential Order of Merit from SWOSU President Randy Beutler.

The Southwestern Oklahoma State University Foundation Board of Trustees in Weatherford has new officers and committee chairs.

Officers of the SWOSU Foundation for the Fall 2017 – Fall 2019 leadership term are:

  • Dianne Hunter, Edmond, Class of 1986, Chair
  • George Cohlmia, Oklahoma City, Class of 1974, 1st Vice-Chair and chair of Investment Committee
  • Bryan Evans, Edmond, Class of 1998, 2nd Vice-Chair
  • Debbie Shepherd, Weatherford, Class of 1979, Secretary and chair of Property Committee
  • E. Vann Greer Andrews, Oklahoma City, Class of 1960, Treasurer and chair of Corporate Governance & Nominating Committee
  • Carl Hook, Norman, Class of 1967, Past Chair

Other committee chairs include:

  • Philip Busey, Jr., Edmond, Class of 2004, chair of Development Committee
  • Brice Harris, Fair Oaks, CA, Class of 1970, chair of Scholarships & Grants Committee
  • Bruce Magill, Weatherford, Class of 1970, chair of Finance Committee
  • Harvey Minton, Weatherford, Class of 1964, chair of Audit Committee

“The SWOSU Foundation, Inc. plays an invaluable role in helping make possible our mission of delivering a quality higher educational experience for all,” said SWOSU President Dr. Randy L. Beutler. “I look forward to continuing the outstanding relationships SWOSU and the SWOSU Foundation have maintained and cultivated for over 40 years. I welcome our new Foundation Chair, Dianne Hunter, and I thank her predecessor, Carl Hook, for his tremendous service.”

The Foundation Board of Trustees met recently on the Weatherford campus. Amongst other business conducted, the board commended Trustee Jim Mogg of Hydro (SWOSU Class of 1971) who is leaving the board after serving in multiple roles including Chair and Past Chair. At the meeting, Mogg was named the 32nd member of the SWOSU Presidential Order of Merit by President Beutler.

The SWOSU Presidential Order of Merit is an honor bestowed upon an individual who has shown outstanding achievement, on the state, national or international level, in the arts, sciences, business, industry, the professions, sports, social service or public service.  The prestigious award represents recognition of significant distinction that a member of the SWOSU family has attained. SWOSU President Dr. John Hays introduced the award in 2004. The SWOSU Presidential Order of Merit is the highest honor in the personal gift of SWOSU's chief executive.

“Jim Mogg is a person whose accomplishments must be measured in miles, not feet,” said SWOSU Foundation Executive Director Garrett King. “SWOSU is a stronger university because of his service on the Foundation Board of Trustees, and I am a better person for having been able to work with and learn from him. He is a sterling example of the finest ideals of what it means to be a SWOSU Bulldog and I am grateful that President Beutler has chosen to name him to the prestigious Presidential Order of Merit.”

The SWOSU Foundation was established in 1977 to promote philanthropy and distribute funds to support the activities and programs of SWOSU. Located on the Weatherford campus in the historic Burton House, the Foundation currently stewards over $23 million in assets for the benefit of SWOSU. For more information, please visit www.SWOSUFoundation.com or call 580-774-3267.

  • November 28, 2017


Leave your comment